EB-4 Visa for Special Immigrants

The EB-4 classification enables special groups of foreign nationals to permanently work and live in the U.S. These groups include religious workers and former overseas employees.

All such applicants must be the beneficiary of an approved I-360, Petition for Special Immigrant, except overseas employees of the U.S. Government who must use Form DS-1884. Among the types of individuals who qualify under this preference are:

Religious Workers
Individuals must have been a paid member of a bona fide nonprofit, religious organization in the U.S. for the immediate two years before petitioning for an immigrant visa. The individual must also intend to continue to carry out their religious vocation.

Other Special Immigrants
The list of special immigrants groups include media broadcasters, Iraqi/Afghan translators, Iraqis who have assisted the U.S., international organization employees, physicians licensed to practice in the U.S. since 1978 in H or J status, members of the Armed Forces, and retirees of the NATO-6 and their spouses and children.

Additional types of individuals who qualify under this preference are:

  • Religious workers coming to carry on the vocation of a minister of religion, or to work in a professional capacity in a religious vocation, or to work for a tax-exempt organization affiliated with a religious denomination;
  • Certain overseas employees of the U.S. Government;
  • Former employees of the Panama Canal Company;
  • Retired employees of international organizations;
  • Certain dependents of international organization employees; and
  • Certain members of the U.S. Armed Forces.

The list of special immigrants and qualifications are unique to this fourth preference category.

Please contact our office to see if you qualify under any of these categories and how we may assist you.